cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close-up photography with a Canon EOS 250D

violetorange
Apprentice

I'm a novice. Is there any way to shoot close-up pictures while in Auto mode? I use a photo tent to get good pictures of vases but can't get good photos of the signatures on the bottom of these vases. Thank you

5 REPLIES 5

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Do you mean get the vase and the signatures both in focus in the same image or do you want an image of the vase and an image of the signature separately?

When you say Auto mode do you mean green square auto on the dial?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

violetorange
Apprentice

Hi John,

Separate photo of the signature on the bottom of the vase/vases. Green dial.

If this is not possible, is there a basic setting in another mode, e.g. aperture, that might work for most such signature pic's in a bright light tent?

Thank you,

Ernie

I suggest you look into buying a set of extension tubes. They will allow your lens to focus closer.

Here is some information on extension tubes.

The Ultimate Guide to Extension Tubes (shuttermuse.com)

There are three factors to consider with the lens you are using: 1. focal length (also termed angle of view), 2. minimum focusing distance and 3. maximum magnification.

I am assuming you might have the Canon EF-S 18-55mm zoom lens, a common kit lens for Rebel cameras.

As you zoom the lens from 18-55 you see that width of the area included in the view reduces since you are decreasing the angle of view. Since for macro use you general want to be concentrating on a smaller object that is why macro lens generally have longer focal lengths.

In order to fill the frame with a subject macro lenses generally have closer minimum focusing distances (how close can you get and still achieve focus). The 18-55mm lens has a 9.8 inch minimum focusing distance.