cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D Mk4 power problem

Goguag
Apprentice
Hi, bought a new 5d 4 2 weeks ago in Berlin, Germany (i am based in Tbilisi, Georgia). After bringing it to Tbilisi and testing it properly forst time, i found out, it drains a battery incredey quickly. The bigger problem is that the battery dies even if the camera is Off. Tried changing rhe battery, turning off GPS, wi-fi and Touchscreen but still, the Turned-off camera totally kills a fully charged battery in approximately 2 hours.

I’ve been a professional canon user for 6 years alrady and never had/heard an issue like this neither with MK2 nor MK3.

Did anyone of you had a same issue or do you know how to deal with it? I also contacted the shop which told to use my warranty with any international cannon support center worldwide, which i tried in Tbilisi, Georgia and got an answer, that they only support caneras bought locally (bull**bleep**, is not it?). So before i decide to take or send it to nearby country for support, maybe someone here knows about the problem.

And yes, i emaled Cannon international support a week ago and i have not got an answer yet, despite te fact that they should answer within 4/5 working days.

Thanks in advance.
6 REPLIES 6

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

GPS Mode 1 will kill the battery -- that's the mode that keeps the GPS on even if you switch the camera off.  The idea is that it takes a couple of minutes to acquire a GPS position fix.  If you temporarily power off your camera (suppose you just power it off, swap a lens, and power it back on) then you might not GPS positions available for a couple of minutes.  GPS mode 1 keeps the GPS on at all times so that you never have to worry about not having a GPS position fix -- it will already have a fix as soon as you power on the camera (because the GPS was never off).