cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CANNON EOS 7D get message as "cannot connect with battery" What can i do to fix this problem?

Modesto
Apprentice

when i turn on the camera  and its trying to read the battery the message i get is " cannot connect with battery"  i thought it was a defective battery and went out and bought a new one and still kept getting the same message.  what can i do ? Does anybody been through this situation from what i hear this is common on the CANNON EOS 7D models only why is that?

6 REPLIES 6

Jessica
Enthusiast

Hi Modesto! So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know exactly what equipment you're using.  Any other details you'd like to give will also help the Community better understand your issue. Thanks and have a great day!

is this a bit more clear and percise to the issue or the problem

amfoto1
Authority

I've been shooting with a pair of 7Ds for close to four years now and have never seen such a message. Nor have I heard of a problem such as you describe from any other 7D users (and I'm pretty active on some Internet forums). So, no, I don't think this is a common problem.

If the camera turns on, it must be getting power from the battery. So I am guessing it's just not able to read the on-board battery diagnostics, can't report the battery condition or shot details.

Is it an OEM Canon LP-E6 battery or a third party battery?

Is the battery (or the camera) new, used but new to you, or have you had them for a while and they worked correctly before?

If Canon battery and/or one you have used without problem in the past, I'd simply clean the battery to camera electronic contacts. Just use a few drops of isopropyl alcohol to dampen a clean rag and wipe the contacts lightly... both on the battery and inside the camera's battery compartment. Look closely, too, to be sure there is nothing obstructing any of the battery contacts.