cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bokeh looks like someone doodled over it with the liquify function in photoshop. R5 with rf 100-500

David-Epperly
Contributor

So I got a new r5 and an rf 100-500 in anticipation of going to Africa later this year. I am a professional photographer that normally used 5d mk4s for my day-to-day workflow.  

Long story short. Here is a picture I took this morning with the above r5 and rf 100-500 combo. Both have the latest firmware. 

The background looks like someone used a smudge tool or the liquify/push tool to push and pull the texture of the background around. I opened this photo in dpp4 and in the latest lightroom. Both programs show the same effect. 

I am attaching a small jpg that has only been slightly sharpened to show the effect, but the photo was taken as a cr3. image was taken at iso 800, 500mm, f9.0 1/1600 of a second. IBIS and lens stabilization are on. 

Obviously, this is not a great photo, but if it was it would be ruined by the effect taking place. has anyone else had this issue. I could upload the raw file if anyone knows a server that will host such a large file. I assume this site will not. 

Any ideas?  As of now I am a bit disappointed with the camera lens combo for being such a high-end rig,  I was selling my nature kit (nikon D810 and 150-600) to go all canon. I am unsure of that move now. There seem to be a few other issues with the camera that I'm not sure I can live with. 

Anyway, let me know if you have any ideas on what is causing this. 

Thanks

Davebokeh smudged-2149.jpg

16 REPLIES 16

@Waddizzle wrote:

Looks like you're using a UV or CPL filter, to me.  If so, switch to a B+W Nano Clear filter.  But, take test shots with no filter to see if removing any filter you might have been using makes any difference.

[EDIT] I have also seen a similar pattern when I had IS turned with the camera rig on a tripod, or when holding it very still.

Waddizzle.