cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

90D Shutter count

Mathiman58
Apprentice

Hi I'm brand new to this and not very Tech Savvy so please excuse my ignorance. I own a Canon 90D and I am finding it impossible to get the shutter count from it? I have tried every online solution, watched every Youtube video, tried every online Shutter count application and downloaded every Canon software available. I was reliably informed that the EOS Utility would do the trick but the download I did does not have the Utility 3 option which, apparently is the one I need? I have tried the Canon connect app on my phone but the shutter count info doesn't show? I have tried to get it via Lightroom and Photoshop but that doesn't work either? When I download the Canon Digital Info software it wont recognise my camera? I am very frustrated and confused and am almost at the point of giving up on Canon for another brand. Can someone please help me? Remember to keep your reply simple, I'm not very bright it seems? Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Perhaps if I explain the process differently...  This is the best attempt you have to obtain a value without going to Canon.

1. Take a photo.
  2. Use the button with the blue arrow on it to view the image.  When that is displayed you should see one of the screens in the image below. 
  3. If the shutter count (as indicated by the red arrow on the diagram) does not show, then press the Info button (see image below) on the back of the camera until it does.  90D back.jpg
    The last four digits in that sequence are likely your shutter count.   If it is greater than the number when you first bought the camera it is likely correct.  For further assurance, if you still have a photo you took when you first got the camera, check that the number of the file name is smaller than the one on your screen.

Info Display.png