cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D & 6D mk. II - Upgrade suggestions from EOS 20D

xaweer
Apprentice

I am currently using a 20D which is a very fine camera and takes great photographs. I am still fairly new to DSLR cameras so I wanted to start with a decent base level kit.

Recently I have been wanting to upgrade my body to take advantage of some of the newer upgrades such as a better sensor and higher ISO settings.

I am a hobbyist and shoot mostly landscape, nature/wildlife, macro and candid head shots.

4 REPLIES 4

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What is your budget?

What is preventing you from going whole hog to an R8? Even the 6D Mk II is getting to 10 years old.

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

I would highly recommend looking into a Mirrorless camera. The DSLR platform is dead and no further improvement is happening any longer. I would look into the EOS R series lineup of cameras. The AF systems have greatly surpassed a DSLR in performance. Since you're interested in the EOS 6D series I'd look into the EOS R6 Mark II as a replacement. What lenses do you currently have. These new mirrorless cameras use a new mount called the RF Mount. Older EF or EF-S Mount lenses can be adapted to these cameras. But functions will be limited due to older hardware in the lens. Do you want to stick with APS-C or move to Full Frame. Note when adapting Canon EF-S lenses to a Full Frame EOS R series body. The camera will be forced into APS-C mode reducing megapixels. For instance the EOS R6 Mark II has a 24 megapixel Full Frame image sensor. But in APS-C mode its reduced to 9.3 megapixels. This is due to the lens only projecting an APS-C image circle which is smaller than 35mm film. So I'd look into Full Frame replacement counterpart if you have any APS-C lenses. What is your budget in mind do you have any accessories such as a Speedlite/ External Flash.

-Demetrius
Bodies: EOS 5D Mark IV
Lenses: EF Trinity, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM