cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

advice for maximizing lens usage (wide angle/macro/extensions)

SaltyElbows
Contributor

I'm an artist, building a new kit for photographing medium and large format paintings for print reproduction. I also use the camera for artistic shots and references from nature. I basically need a to expand my spectrum, or learn how to do it without tons of equipment. So far, I have the EFS 18-55mm 3.5/5.6 IS STM, and a EF 50mm f1.8.

I'm looking for tips and tools for the following scenarios:

1) wider angle for archiving large artwork in a short room (looking at EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM)

2) macro lens, maybe the 24mm paired with an extension tube? what size extension? I need details of artwork, and also like to get scientifically small for references and inspiration outside the studio.

3) a good telephoto, preferably more distance than the 70-300mm I was using in the past for the birds of prey in my neighborhood.

Thank you!

18 REPLIES 18

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What Camera?

Do you have a budget?

I have paired one of the Tamron 150-600's to get me extra reach. The Sigma is just as good.

Perfect, the Tamron 150-600 looks perfect for catching this bald eagle that hangs out near the federal penitentiary. I found them used for around $550. Thank you!

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

We need to know what camera to know what "wide" means.

oops, thank you. body is the EOS 90D

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

I would be concerned with the distortion of wide angle lenses. How far back can you be from the paintings? A standard to short telephoto may be better.

I supose a tilt-shift may be better in tight quarters and allow you to capture a panorama (but that could get costly and time-consuming).

Also, be aware of the lighting. That can lead to extra specular highlights. You can try using polarized lights to help cut down reflections. Or a polarizing filter if existing light is enough.

--
Ricky