cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom Lens Above the usual

Skippy2525
Contributor

I'm a casual/weekend photographer and have a Canon T3 Rebel camera.  I currently own the following lenses: 

1)  Canon EF 80-200  1:4.5-5.6 II

2)  Canon EF 75-300  1:4-5.6 III

3)  Canon EFS 18-55  1:3.5-5.6 IS II

4)  Canon EF 35-80  1:4-5.6 III

I enjoy taking landscape and nature photos, however I've found that even my EF 75-300 lens can't get me close enough to some of the birds and animals I've tried to photograph.  At one point, I used a 2x teleconverter, but my photos didn't seem very crisp. 

So, I'm looking to purchase a longer lens and am willing to pay a little more for a quality lens that will get me in closer. 

Should I go with a fixed focal length lens?  Or, a variable with a longer focal point? 

Any suggestions as to which lens/lenses I shoud consider?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

18 REPLIES 18

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

@Skippy2525 wrote:

I'm a casual/weekend photographer and have a Canon T3 Rebel camera.  I currently own the following lenses: 

1)  Canon EF 80-200  1:4.5-5.6 II

2)  Canon EF 75-300  1:4-5.6 III

3)  Canon EFS 18-55  1:3.5-5.6 IS II

4)  Canon EF 35-80  1:4-5.6 III

I enjoy taking landscape and nature photos, however I've found that even my EF 75-300 lens can't get me close enough to some of the birds and animals I've tried to photograph.  At one point, I used a 2x teleconverter, but my photos didn't seem very crisp. 

So, I'm looking to purchase a longer lens and am willing to pay a little more for a quality lens that will get me in closer. 

Should I go with a fixed focal length lens?  Or, a variable with a longer focal point? 

Any suggestions as to which lens/lenses I shoud consider?

Thanks for any help you can give me!