cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why won't my Canon 400 mm prime lens focus?

AnneEM
Contributor

Hello. I have a Canon 400 mm prime lens on a Canon Rebel camera. I am a wildlife photographer, so my camera has been used in some extreme temperatures. I have noticed lately that my camera does not always want to focus on wildlife. For instance, I was trying to take pictures of owls and while they showed up focused on the viewfinder and the auto focus was going off, they ended up not focused on my actual camera. This has been a problem for 3 months now. Sometimes it will focus, but half of the time it does not. I have never had this issue before. I use the P setting and my 400 mm lens a large majority of the time. I had my camera looked at very briefly at a shop and they found nothing obviously wrong with it. I'm not sure if its a problem with my lens or camera. I want to say it's my lens but I'm not sure because I only use the 400 since I photograph wildlife. Does this problem sound familiar to anyone?

38 REPLIES 38

jimmy637
Contributor

Which Rebal are using the 400mm lens on and is your lens the 400mm f5.6?

I have the Canon T1i and the 400 mm f5.6 lens is what I use.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

1. Does it only happen with this lens?

2. If you go to LiveView and focus are the pictures sharp?

3. Are you in One Shot or AI Servo focus?

4. Can you post an image; preferably without stripping EXIF data?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

It only happens with this lens. The pictures are not sharp on Liveview even though my focus is trying to work. I have been shotting in One Shot. The image below is an example. Lately, my images have been appearing even more unfocused than this one.IMG_1359.JPG

@AnneEM wrote: