cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Lens Do You Recommend For Canon 70D

ugale11
Apprentice

So i just got my Canon 70D recently with the 18-55mm lens. What are other lens that is recommended for this Canon camera?

Im a beginner and mostly im doing portrait and cosplay photos but i sometimes do street photography but mainly i want to focus more on portrait and cosplay photos.

Im just slow surfing so i dont have a budget yet but any lens around 400$ will do.

Thanks in advance 🙂

4 REPLIES 4

rs-eos
Elite

You can use any EF-S or EF lens with your camera.  One good lens that would be very versatile is the Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM which costs $600 new.  Though it's available used at least at B&H Photo for around $400 (quality 8 to 9 out of 10).

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

For your purposes, the 18-55 might meet most of your needs. Use it a while and see if you would like to go past 55 or wider than 18. Then you will know what lens to focus on. If you find you want a little longer than 55, Ricky's suggestion of the 18-135 is excellent. That is my walking around lens.

justadude
Rising Star
Rising Star

Since you are on a budget, have you considered used Canon lenses?  Most reputable camera shops have a selection of good used lenses, at great prices.  The reason I say reputable camera shop is because they test the lenses before reselling.  If there is anything wrong, they sell them as "not fully functional".  I have bought at least 20 used lenses this way over the (too many) decades.  I have never bought a bad one.  

The question I would ask at this point, when using your current 18-55mm do you wish you could get more into the photos (wider), or reach more distance (zooming in)?  If zooming, I agree with Ricky on the 18-135mm.  If wider, I would go with the 10-18 which you can get new for $299.

Gary