Did you mean: 

Wedding Photography Lens?

Dlwilkinson
Contributor

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

You already have a decent range.  Perhaps look into a macro lens (e.g. 100mm f/2.8 L) to capture detail shots.

Do you foresee having to capture very large groups of people?  If so, then a wider angle (wider than 24mm) could be very useful.

While not as good in lower-light, I think the 16-35mm f/2.8 would be way more versatile than the 35mm f/1.4 prime.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Dlwilkinson wrote:

Hi everyone! I am in the market for a new Canon EF lens. I have a few weddings booked for this year and I am fairly new to this industry. My current lenses include the Canon 70-200, 24-70mm 2.8, and the 85 1.2.  I am considering the 16-35mm 2.8 or the 35mm 1.4. What do you recommend? Any information or opinions would be greatly appreciated! 

Here is my honest opinion.  I think you need to cancel your wedding appointments, and first learn how to be a photographer.  Your forgetting to mention what camera body you are using speaks volumes about your experience level, as well as the fact that you’re even asking this question.

I know this response might sound a little harsh.  But, you are better off gaining some knowledge and experience with photography than destroying reputation and a new career for life.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

You already have a decent range.  Perhaps look into a macro lens (e.g. 100mm f/2.8 L) to capture detail shots.

Do you foresee having to capture very large groups of people?  If so, then a wider angle (wider than 24mm) could be very useful.

While not as good in lower-light, I think the 16-35mm f/2.8 would be way more versatile than the 35mm f/1.4 prime.

--
Ricky