cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portrait photography lens recommendations for EOS Rebel T4i

riahroo2
Apprentice

I have a Canon Rebel T4I and a 75-300mm Canon Zoom Lens EF. I am just starting out on my photography journey, but I really like taking portraits and less zoomed in photos. What would be a good lens and how would I make sure it fits my camera? 

8 REPLIES 8

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi Ria and welcome to the forum:

The EF 75-300 is not a great optic, but leaving that aside, I assume you will also have the standard kit lens that is supplied: the EF-S 18-55 IS USM lens.  For portraits, that lens would be a starting point, but if you want to have better results in terms of isolating your subjects, then that requires some investment.

There are a couple of questions you need to consider and preferably share with us:
1. What is your budget in $terms - we can happily suggest solutions that are beyond your means, so this will give us some guidance.
2. What will you produce?  The demands for large, detailed prints are very different compared to those for social media, digital display or small-moderate prints.
3.  Do you have a preference between fixed focal length (prime) lenses or zoom lenses?

cheers, TREVOR

The mark of good photographer is less what they hold in their hand, it's more what they hold in their head;
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

I actually got this camera from somebody as a gift, and they bought it used from somebody. So I only have the lens I mentioned. I do not have the original lens it came with. 

1. As of right now, I only have $100-$200ish to spend on a new lens. 
2. I will most likely be printing out 4x6 photos and smaller pictures or social media photos. If I do anything bigger, it would be a slightly bigger photo for to hang on a wall.