cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a Canon EOS r100, I am a beginner, I was gifted the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6mm lens, what adapter?

Derangedartist
Apprentice

Hello,

I have a Canon EOS r100, I am a beginner, I was gifted the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6mm lens. I was wondering what adapter do I need to purchase? I know the lens has some bad reviews but as I didn’t pay for it I think it will be fine for my first telephoto lens! Also if anyone has any recommendations for some settings with this lens for some different photos to try or settings that gave you good results with this lens that  I could try I would really appreciate it! Thank you for any help or recommendations in advanced! Even if you have articles or videos to recommend me I would really appreciate it!

2 REPLIES 2

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You need the Canon EF to RF adapter.

You can get a refurbished one for $80

https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/refurbished-mount-adapter-ef-eos-r

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome to the forum:

As my respected colleague, Keith, explained you need the EF-RF Canon adapter.  Avoid third-party ones, they have issues.

The 75-300 is a slow lens, so you want to keep a reasonably open aperture because it does not have image stabilization to help stop camera movement when hand-holding it.  For that reason, how you hold the camera is critical.  If you are used to a cell phone you have been holding the phone in front of you to look at the LCD, but a camera is much heavier and with longer focal lenses, any tiny movement by you will be significantly magnified and result in blurry images, so holding the camera with the viewfinder to your eye is critical, to help create a tripod effect between the camera supported at your eye, and an arm tucked into your torso at each side.