cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New photographer looking for advices on lenses!

Willswearingen
Apprentice

I'm currently a student and have recently gotten into photography. I currently have an 18-200 kit lens and a 50mm. I'm looking at getting the canon 70-200 f2.8, as I've seen it used for around 600 dollars used on ebay and am hoping to get into sports photography. My only concern is my camera body, I currently have the canon 100d (rebel sl1), which is about a ten year old camera. Should I be investing lots of money in lenses and keep my old camera body? Or should I first buy a better camera body? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

If you are new to photography, then I do not recommend buying any used gear on eBay.  Only buy used gear from a reputable used camera gear retailer.  KEH is my favorite.  There are few others.

Your images will never be better than the lens that captured it.  Assuming that you’re purchasing the lens from a reputable retailer, instead of eBay, then purchasing a Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 has its pros and cons.  

First, some background info.  There have been different versions of the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L over the years.  You can find a good history of the different versions of the lenses on Wikipedia.  The lenses have been released in two basic versions, with and without Image Stabilization, IS.  Lenses with IS cost significantly more and have better weather sealing than the lenses without IS.    

An EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM would be a good investment for the future, even though it duplicates the same focal lengths as your current 18-200mm lens.  The 70-200mm will much better image quality.  

Cameras focus at their maximum aperture setting.  This means a lens with an f/2,8 maximum aperture will allow more light to reach the AF sensor, which will mean better focusing in addition to the higher quality glass.

Good luck.  Stay away from eBay until you can answer your questions.