cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking at a lens EF-S 17-55mm for people, horses, landscapes, etc.

Dmrcajun
Contributor

I'm looking for a lens for; in church, people ,poising , horses landscape. Someone recommended The EF-S 17-55mm AF. And i'm new to photography. Yes i'm learning to use Manual etc. I bought Rebel T7 KIt. I'm also going to MT. for the 4th of July. 

Question 2. well what i have now be sufficient? For a beginner LOL. Who is hungry to learn....

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Yes i'm learning to use Manual etc."

I did DSLR 101 classes for a while and I always discourage full manual for beginners. This is another place where DPP4 can be a big help as you can see what exposure settings were successful. You will begin to see the relationship between light and shutter speed and aperture. I also tell beginners to avoid the Creative Zones on the mode dial.

Selecting one of the semi automatic modes is better. Av, Tv, and the more fully auto P mode. You will learn to select the proper ISO for each scenario. Success is the better teacher and this method leads to success faster and fans the fire to learn more. Photography is a series of baby steps so don't rush it with a lot of terms and functions you don't fully understand right now. Enjoy!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"What is DDp 4? "