cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lenses

CapiluisPanay
Apprentice

I have a EOS 7D with a 18-200 EFS lens, I would like to enhance my photographic capabilities purchasing another lens for close and long range. What lenses could I add to my equipment....off course within reasonable expense.

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3

Skirball
Authority

What do you want to shoot?  You’re not going to get one lens that does it all (the best).  That’s kind of the point of the SLR, to allow you to swap out lenses for a specific purpose.  In general, shooting close and far are opposite ends of the spectrum.  Technically you could get a long tele macro, like the Canon 180, that would allow you to shoot close and far.  But I don’t know what you mean by close.   Like, an insect close, or just wide angle like for a group shot?  Tell us what you’d like to shoot and we could probably help you more.

Thanks for a fast response.....to give you and Idea, I am a ships pilot in the Panama Canal and there are circumstances on which I would like to take a shot at a friend pilotong a submarine at a distance of lets say 500 ft. Furthermore the watershed is full of wildlife, that is another aspect....and you put it, lets say an insect......

I was overviewing the lenses in the web and it is difficult to choose the wright one or the ones....that is the purpose of my inquiry.

Thanks

The dimension field of view for a 400mm focal length shooting a subject 500 ft away is about 28' (horizontal) by just shy of 19' (vertical).  Submarines are, of course, much larger than wildlife.  

If I were shooting primarily wildlife, I'd probably want a 400mm lens.  If I were shooting anotther boat, then 300mm is probably sufficient.

Canon makes an EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM - about $1700

There's also an EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM - about $1600

And then for a much lower price point, there's the EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM (without the "L") for about $650.