cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many of you needed warranty work on body/lens?

chamunda
Apprentice

So, I just picked up a 6d ii. I’m not a professional photographer, but want to get into photography as a hobby.

My question is really regarding the reliability of canon bodies and lenses.

How often do they fail? Are people regularly having to send equipment in for warranty work? As the mfg warranty is only a year - I’m guessing not too many products have to be sent in during this time... or am I wrong?

The real reason I ask is because I’ve picked up my body from a legit US online retailer. Not too concerned there.

But... I’m taking a gamble with a 24-70 f2.8 lens that I purchased from an online shop out of Hong Kong. (Surprisingly, I ordered the camera and the lens the same day, wed the 21st, and the lens just arrived this morning).

I saved enough money on the lens to make me happy with my purchase, but as someone that probably won’t be using this stuff every day... is there really a concern that I won’t be able to use the warranty? Are lenses failing that often that this is a legit concern for grey market products?

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Canon US Support tends to be very good.  The gear tends to be reliable.  Of course, there are the outliers and exceptions.

If you purchased your lens from a online retailer in Hong Kong, then you may or may not have a warranty through Canon US Support. I would check with them directly.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

" I purchased from an online shop out of Hong Kong. "