cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 17-40mm Lens Photos Looks Flushed

jahlavay
Apprentice

I bought a used Canon EOS-1D Mark IV along with a Canon 17-40mm wide-angle zoom. When I use the lens, the picture is extremely flushed, too much light. But when I use the standard 50mm lens that also came with the camera the photos look good.

Is there a setting for the 17-40mm that I need to make?

11 REPLIES 11

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

Based on your very minimal post, it's impossible to know what the problem is; or even how much you know about photography.  I'm going to start by assuming you're a complete beginner; if this is too insulting, well, you need to post more info.

When taking pictures, it's up to you to control the exposure; i.e. how much light hits the sensor during the exposure.  You can do this by controlling the aperture and shutter speed.  You can also control the sensor's sensitivity to light, which is called the ISO.

You can do this by putting the camera into aperture or shutter priority mode, or you can use a program mode.  In any of these modes, the camera will make its best guess to get the exposure right.  But it can easily be misled by different scenes; for example a photo of a snow scene may come out too dark.  So you need to know how to compensate for this to get good exposure.  You can also use manual mode, where you control everything directly.

If you're not already comfortable with this, there are many resources online which can teach you the basics of photography.

If you want more help from this forum, I suggest posting *way* more details.  For example, some example pictures, and for each picture:

• what mode is the camera in
  • what exposure compensation are you using (the "+/-" setting)
  • what are the aperture, shutter speed and ISO