cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a lens - EOS Rebel T7 compatibility with Sigma lens

Icey_
Apprentice

Hey! I’m quite new to photography and bought a canon rebel T7. I wanted to buy a Sigma 150-600c for it but I’m not sure if it will work on it! Can someone let me know what adapter I should use or maybe an alternative lens with also a quick auto focus and a longer focal lenght? I’m into bird watching and landscape photography so I don’t know if it’s a good one to invest in. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"... a quick auto focus and a longer focal lenght? I’m into bird watching and landscape photography ..."

As you probably have learned the big Siggy C for Canon EF will work on your T7 as long as you buy the Canon EF model. If you bought a T7 did you not get the standard kit lens with it? Yes, it is all you need for landscapes. Add the big Siggy and you have a nice combo. If you didn't buy the T7 with kit lens go buy one now.

Addressing focus speed or quick auto focus which can be a tough issue to grasp. There are several factors at play here and remember the camera focuses not the lens. So focus speed is greatly affected by the T7. A second factor is a lens like the Sigma 150-600mm super zoom has a lot of internal parts that are comparatively heavy compared to a smaller lens like the 17-55mm kit lens. Moving all that mass takes more time. And how you focus will effect the speed, too. I always suggest you use One shot mode and just the center focus point for birds. Confusing or cluttered backgrounds can effect the focus to the point of it not being able to focus at all.

The Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary Lens for Canon EF, (<-- that is the exact model you need) will require a bit of a leaning curve to get the best from it.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum: