cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannon EF vs RF opinions

kinopmi
Apprentice

I basically film my daughter and her friends jumping their horses in competition rings. Im an uneducated amateur hobbyist at best 😉 I'm upgrading my gear to a EOS r6 mark ii. It runs RF not EF...

So my question is... id like to just run my EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM but Ill need an RF adapter. The RF70-200mm F2.8 L IS USM is an option instead but seems smaller https://tutuapp.uno/ 

My goal is faster action shots and keep or improve the quality.

Which way would you go and why?

3 REPLIES 3

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the forum.

"The RF70-200mm F2.8 L IS USM is an option instead but seems smaller"

Why would smaller seem to be a disadvantage to you? If you have the funds it is always better to use the native RF version of a lens. 

If you decide to stay with the EF lens be sure to get the Canon brand adapter.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, M200, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, Lr Classic

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

The focal length of the two lenses is identical. The EF version is an internal zoom, the RF version is an external zoom.