cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best EF lens options for night time sports photography?? Please help!!

Mfm778
Apprentice

Hey all! I am very new to photography and I have a Canon EOS rebel t7. I currently have the 2 kit lenses for this camera (EFS 18-55 mm and EF 75-300 mm zoom lens) and I am looking into getting a better lens for night time sports photography. I have been photographing rodeos specifically and they are mainly at night under yellow/ fluorescent lighting. Rodeos are very fast paced and I have tried many things to try and capture sharper images but they don’t seem to always work. I am shooting with a high ISO and low aperture with about a 1/500 shutter speed most of the time. My images come out very inconsistent with some being super dark or some being super blurry. I lower my ISO and shutter speed to try and get them to balance out, but that leaves me with blurry images. I know I need a lens that lets better light in to get my aperture lower. Right now the lowest I can go with my aperture is a 4.5. Any and all suggestions are welcomed and appreciated!!! Or any tips and tricks that I may not have tried!!! I try to stay away from shooting on sports mode because my images come out super over exposed or extremely shaky. I have been shooting strictly manual. I would also love to not break the bank as I am still very new to this and I’m just trying to figure out what works for me until I get some real experience with it. Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4

Tronhard
VIP
VIP