cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are EF lenses worth it?

feng192
Apprentice

Hey all, I have an R7 and I know EF lenses are cheaper than RF lenses. I’m no professional photographer, mostly shoot family outings or some mini trips I take (either for work or on my own). I know for EF lenses to work, I’d have to get the adapter. But what do you think? Are EF lenses worth it for a mirrorless camera?

16 REPLIES 16

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

There you go again and not reading or understanding the whole reply!

" Now if you wanted to qualify that statement to EF/EF-S lenses AF better, I can get on board with that. AF is done by the camera not the lens so it is easy to see that a better AF system would make it seem that the lens is better when it is not any different."

However, the EF lens is no different than it ever was. The camera is what is better. Now if you want to say that the better AF makes the lens better go ahead you have my permission. Putting the exact same R sensor in the exact same DSLR, I suspect you would see the exact same IQ results.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

There you go again and not reading or understanding the whole reply!

" Now if you wanted to qualify that statement to EF/EF-S lenses AF better, I can get on board with that. AF is done by the camera not the lens so it is easy to see that a better AF system would make it seem that the lens is better when it is not any different."

However, the EF lens is no different than it ever was. The camera is what is better. Now if you want to say that the better AF makes the lens better go ahead you have my permission. Putting the exact same R sensor in the exact same DSLR, I suspect you would see the exact same IQ results.