cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

70-200 F2.8 lens

jfregan88
Apprentice

Will the 70-200 F2.8 lens fit on a 70D body without an adapter?

And, I'm an amateur shooting mostly my kids and grandkids sports, soccer, volleyball and football, etc. Is this a good lens for that?

3 REPLIES 3

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Which 70-200 lens are you speaking of?  EF or RF?   If it's an EF lens, it will work with your 70D.  If it's the RF version, it will not.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

As Ray stated, you need the EF version of the lens for your 70D.  And the 70-200 f2.8 is a very versatile sports lens and is on one of my camera bodies at every sports event. 

With the APS-C sensor, the comparative focal length is 112-320mm (with respect to using it on a full frame body) which means you need to be fairly close to the action if you want a lot of detail for individual players.  The 70D low light/higher ISO performance results in loss of detail so you don't want to have to crop too much for late afternoon or evening games.

I use full frame cameras, typically with a 400 f2.8 on one body and a 70-200 f2.8 on the other, and even though I am on the sideline the 400 typically gets used for over 60% of the photos in a typical soccer or football game so you will want to get sidelines access if you can, if not you will often find the visitor seating is a little closer to the playing field than the home side at many stadiums.