cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ink level?

heyjude70819
Apprentice

I'm trying to find out how much ink I have left but it says ink details cannot be displayed. Any suggestions?

11 REPLIES 11

Jason
Whiz
Hello heyjude70819!  In order for the community to better assist you, we’ll need to know the model of the printer you are using, as well as which ink tanks you have inserted.  This will ensure the most accurate information is provided.  We look forward to hearing back from you!

Okay, this is driving me a little crazy and I am hoping to get some help.  I've got over 20 years of IT experience so I can understand the lingo and it kills me to have to ask this in a forum.  Here's the deal.

I was just writing a nasty letter to headquarters about my MG6120 regarding the software's silly paper handling (can't delete the defaults; can't save over a current one ...) but before printing that letter, I decided to go and download the latest drivers and reinstall thinking maybe there were some new features available.  Before this, it was working perfectly.  I've had the printer for well over 5 months now.

I uninstalled all the drivers and the printer itself first.  

Then instead of using the disk that came with it, I downloaded 3 files for Windows 8 64-bit.  I went to the driver page on Canon and downloaded the files for the drivers, MP Navigator and My Printer.  Filenames are:

mpnx_4_0-win-4_02-ejs.exe

mypr-win-3_1_0-ea11_2.exe

mp68-win-mg6100-1_05-ejs.exe

I installed the drivers first, restarted pc, then installed My Printer and then MP Navigator.  EVERYTHING works.  I can print and all is well.  I am connected wirelessly.

However, I cannot get ink status anymore.  It says ink details cannot be displayed which doesn't make sense to me when everything else is on par.