Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iP8720 code 1660 -- **SOLVED**

ransur0t
Apprentice

Hi,

-------------EDIT-------------

So, some of  you may have been thinking "try a Canon cartridge!" -- well, I did just that, and the error has cleared.  I suspect, but cannot be certain, that I replaced the last of the Canon cartridges at the same time I replaced the non-oem magenta, hence the printer may need at least one Canon cartridge installed to function ...  

If anyone can comment as to the accuracy of this, that would be appreciated!

-ljg

----------EDIT-------------------

I've been printing trouble free for a couple years using 3rd party ink for my iP8720 printer.  Recently, I had to replace the magenta cartridge.  The replacement was recognized (light is lit), but the error code will not clear from the printer.

I have tried using other (also new 3rd party) cartridges, removing and reseating the cartridges, and removing and cleaning the print head, yet the error won't clear.

Has anyone experienced this issue?  If so, is there a way to clear the error?

Thanks and kind regards,

ljg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ransur0t
Apprentice
So, turns out that both of the third party magenta cartridges from that box were defective. I ordered a new set and the magenta cartridge works fine now. 😊👍

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Darius
Whiz

Hi ransur0t.

While we recommend using Canon inks, there is no preprogramming to prevent it from working with non-Canon produced ink tanks.  If the inks were remanufactured, then they may have been remanufactured using ink tanks that were damaged, or they may have been damaged by the process.