cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon MG5300 printer no longer prints or copies.

Shevlin
Apprentice

The printer is a Pixma MG5320. I've been using this device for 2-3 years without issue. Suddenly today nothing prints. The print job is set to the printer and it goes through all the motions but the page comes out blank. The cartriges are not empty. I also tried to copy a page and the same thing happened; it scanned the page and made all the right noises and pretended to print, but the page that came out was blank. HELP! What's wrong with my printer? Is it fixable?

In case it's necessary - 5 different computers are connected. All running Windows 7.

6 REPLIES 6

Shevlin
Apprentice

Problem resolved. Woman Happy

This printer comes with two black cartridges, one large one small (the same size as the colors). It has always had the ability to operate when one or the other was empty. If both were empty it would not print at all. If a color runs out, you get a dialog box telling you it's empty and you MUST replace it or you can't do anything - even print black only docs. My large cartrige has been empty for a couple weeks but since the smaller was just replaced and is still full, I've been printing for a couple weeks with just the small cartridge without issue. I've very often printed for long periods on just one or the other. Today it seems the small cartridge despite being full didn't want to print. I replaced the large cartridge and it's working again. I also cleaned and deep cleaned the print heads, not even those two cleans got the small cartridge to get going. Anyway, I will keep an eye on it - hopefully more print heads won't stop working.

shester555
Apprentice