cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Utility on Windows 10 - Stops Responding while Recording in Live View 80D

cutty3d
Apprentice

Just recently, this problem started.  I record craft tutorial videos via my Canon 80D with a USB cable using the EOS Utility 3.x.  I use the laptop to use Live View recording. I have been using the same laptop for a few years with the same configuration without any utility update.  As of this week, EOS will open normally and Live View will come up, but after about 4-6 minutes, the "live view" window goes white with a red X and the software stops responding entirely.  Camera will continue to record though. I have to kill the app using task manager.  

I tried the following thus far:

Uninstalled and installed the most recent version. 

Updated the camera firmware.

Made sure Windows had all updates.

Uninstalled and tried multiple older versions of the software, as many versions are listed under 80D.

The last thing I can think of is maybe there is trouble with the cord, which I cannot check until I get a replacement, OR a strange USB connection issue.  Has anybody experienced this?  If so, maybe it will lead to a solution to allow me to use Live View again successfully.  

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I suggest you call Canon, thye can tell you whether it is behaving correctly or not.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Of course, check your USB cable.  Be sure to check this "app with no name" to see if it has been recently updated.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."