cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CANON EOS UTILITY 3 FIRST TIME USER

JArmst49
Contributor

I am attempting to calibrate lenses for my EOS 5D Mk lV camera using the "Remote Shooting" function within the Canon EOS Utility 3 program. My laptop has Win 10 and am connected to the camera via USB. The utility starts up fine when the camera is connected and turned on. When I switch to "Live View" and focus on my target I cannot get the "x5" or "x10" (red arrows) zoom functions to work.

I need to add that I am trying to do this work for a friend. I am a novice with both the camera, the Vello Lens Calibration Tool and the Utility program Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also this is my first attempt at lens calibration with the YouTube video's I've seen NOT being very clear.   

Thanks ..... John

2022-03-19 13_02_45-Remote Live View window.png2022-03-19 13_03_11-EOS 5D Mark IV.png

13 REPLIES 13

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Go to the Canon support site for the 5D Mark IV and download the EOSU manual. 

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/eos-dslr-and-mirrorless-ca...

There is a note in the manual that the zoom function depends on the camera. I couldn’t find more details related to which camera. 
86F95003-6DCE-4FFD-8FE3-C6E86B9C1FE1.jpeg92342B07-2ADF-4CA5-BC42-D304D86968F6.jpeg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Thanks John. I've downloaded the manual for the Utility program and can't find any instructions for the magnification processes either. I've tried everything including uninstalling and reinstalling the software to no avail. I've tried double clicking on the image too. I'll keep working on it.     John A

I wasn't able to test yesterday, but I just connected my 1D X III to EOSU on W10 computer.

Left-Clicking on 5X and 10X does enlarge the on-screen image.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH