cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best speedlite for a canon 70D to use on and off camera, never use one before

misskirsty
Apprentice

Hi,

I have been doing for photography for a few years, i have been doing mainly landscape and nature, but are now starting to stretch into portraits.  

I would like to a few recommonations on speedlites for the Canon 70D to use on and off the shoe.

thank you

7 REPLIES 7

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The camera can use it's own pop-up flash to trigger an off camera flash.  in this regard, you'd need a flash that can operate in optical remote mode... like a Canon 430EX II speedlite.  

The 430EX II can either operate on-camera as an only flash -or- it can be a remote flash in a multi-flash setup, but it cannot be a transmitter (aka 'commander').  

The onboard flash can be an optical commander (must have line-of-sight to the remotes because it is optical.)  The on-board flash doesn't have to be used in photography.. it can flash all it's instructions to the remotes during the pre-flash phase of the shot and when the shutter finally opens, only the remotes fire (so you get no effect from the built-in flash even though you saw it fire, it only fired in pre-flash not when the shutter was open.)

The flagship flash is the 600EX-RT system... which can use either optical triggering or radio triggering.  The radio system is very nice BUT the camera has no radio of it's own which means you either need a 2nd 600EX-RT -or- you need the ST-E3-RT transmitter module on the camera to control the off-camera flashes.  It can control up to 15 off-camera flashes and you can pretty much do everything with in-camera menus -- so there's a big integration and ease-of-use advantage, but the flagship flash system is going to be more expensive.