So the last time I updated the firmware on my R5c - it reset everything to default - which was a pain, especially on the cinema side of things. Before I update, does this new version do the same thing, or will all my custom settings be saved?
Updating firmware usually always resets settings. This is typically outlined in the firmware instructions.
For the equipment that supports it, save the current settings (e.g. to an SD card or other media card) prior to performing the update.
I bellieve that "Transfer Menu/CP" is the right option. See manual page 133, and note that it only saves to an SD card -- not a CF card. I definitely recommend doing this before applying a firmware update.
18.104.22.168 does reset settings on the Cinema side. Not on Photo. Use @RS-EOS and @AtticusLake's recommendations. If you have a lot of customizations, restoring from back up is very helpful. I skipped it, and had to go back in three or four times to make minor changes as I remembered stuff. Definitely easier to restore from backup.
Bay Area - CA
~R5 C (22.214.171.124) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw ~Pixel6 ~CarePaks Are Worth It
09/26/2023: New firmware updates are available.
08/18/2023: Canon EOS R5 C training series is released.
07/31/2023: New firmware updates are available.
05/31/2023: New firmware updates are available.
05/18/2023: New firmware updates are available.
03/30/2023: New firmware updates are available.