cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon ImageClass 249dw printer , not scanning to computer or email

ca
Apprentice

Hi Canon Community 

I made a mistake as it was my first time on the forum  and didnt know how to post a  new message so I accidentally sent it as a reply to another query. Excuse me '.

i am not computer savvy at all. so please bear with my explanation. 

The computer i bought is a Canon ImageClass 249dw printer, black and white laser with copy , scanning, fax and double sided printing options. 

I could not set it up my self and the tech guy helped but didnt really understand much about canon printers. I can't afford to call him again.

I have a refurbished HP Envy Pro 4-b-000 ulta pc notebook, recently bought..

It has Windows Pro 10 version 1703 installed on it. I am new to Windows 10 as well. 

Right now the printer works wirelessly. I can print double sided from my PC Notebook and my IPAD mini. However it changes the font to very large on the IPAD mini. not sure why that is the case. 

But the real problem is the scanning. i can not get it to work. 

i had read somewhere  that some else had troubles with scanning , especially scanning to email.

i would like to scan to email or just scan a pdf file to the computer and then send by email. it was one of the reasons i bought this computer.

He mentioned that the SMPT port setting that he had was different from what was the standard . i dont quite understand what this is about. the outgoing mail? Anyway his port setting was SS1 and port 587. I called my internet provider and mine are the same. He said he had to configure that in a separate location from  the scan settings location .He didnt explain how he did this.  I am not sure if this is my problem but if it is where do I enter this information on the printer. . . Is it under IP address. and again I dont know what to do.

When I tried to scan I got an error message on my computer which reads: