Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-30-2016

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Go to cannon.com select your device and select the firmware tab you will have to put your scanner serial number than download the firmware it's fixes the scanner bug everyone is having
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-05-2014

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Updated the firmware... still doesn't work

 

MF4890dw

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-23-2014

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Support for this is awful. I ran Windows 7 with this scanner, now Windows 10, never worked right.  Come on Canon. 

Moderator
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Please take a look at our new Service Notice on the availability of a patch to address an issue that prevents certain imageCLASS models from scanning as a result of updating to Windows 8, 8.1 or 10.

Windows Scanning Update for imageCLASS:

http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/Announcements/Important-Windows-Scanning-Update-for-imageCLASS/m-p...

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-05-2016

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

I understand that the update to Window's 8 or 10 may cause issues with scanning on the network, BUT I'M USING WINDOWS 7 and still having issues. WE, AS CONSUMEES AND BIG FANS OF CANON, ARE BEGGING YOU TO PLEASE FIX THIS BUG.
Thank you!
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2017

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

[ Edited ]

Canon MF4890DW, wirelessly connected to Mac OSX 10.10.3.  System Preferences say the printer is connected correctly.  

 

I CAN Print, however I have to restart the printer every time I want to print, it will not wake up automatically.  I have to do this somtimes 3-4 times before it can connect to the printer.

 

My Biggest issue is I can only scan about 40% of the time.  I start MF Toolbox, close, and restart about 10 times before I can scan (if I can ever get it to scan at all).

 

When I can't scan (60-100%) of the time, I get the following error:  "Cannot communicate with any of the scanners.
The scanners may not be connected, or may be turned off."

 

Please help.

 

Thank you, 

Thomas

Product Expert
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-01-2017

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Hello Thomas (a.k.a brechelt),

 

Based on the information you have provided, I recommend you contact our telephone technical support at 1-800-OK-CANON (652-2666), Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET (excluding holidays).  There is no charge for this call.  Or, click HERE for email support. 

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-17-2017

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Bought a new Mac.  Using MacOs 10.12.6.  Downloaded MF Scan utility.  Printing working fine.  When I try to connect scanner- I type in IP address and the error message I get is "The specified scanner is not supported".  Is there a way around this? 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2018

Re: Can't Scan on network with MF4890dw

Apparently the Canon MF Toolbox 4.9 is not compatible with Windows 10.  I cannot find any way to access the scanner function of the MF4880dw remotely over the network.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement