cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 or 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS

seths1
Apprentice
Hello All! I’m mainly a portrait photographer but plan on doing a lot of landscapes in the near future. Figured I should buy my first telephoto lens, and was wondering if I should buy a used 70-200mm f/4 or a 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS. I would like the f/2.8 L IS II but it is a little out of my budget. Is the couple hundred dollar jump used worth it from the f/4 to f/2.8 L IS? Thanks!
12 REPLIES 12

seths1
Apprentice
Also, I am using a Canon 6D which can handle lower light fairly well.

"...I am using a Canon 6D which can handle lower light fairly well."

That makes the f2.8 even a better choice. How much lower light levels, now will be useful.  It makes the f4 an, OK, I can get by because of my good performing camera.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@seths1 wrote:
Hello All! I’m mainly a portrait photographer but plan on doing a lot of landscapes in the near future. Figured I should buy my first telephoto lens, and was wondering if I should buy a used 70-200mm f/4 or a 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS. I would like the f/2.8 L IS II but it is a little out of my budget. Is the couple hundred dollar jump used worth it from the f/4 to f/2.8 L IS? Thanks!

Your model number references are a little confusing to me.  Is it the choice f/4L against the f/2.8L IS or f/2.8L IS II?

Yes, the added cost is well worth it in the case of the f/2.8L or the f/2.8L IS II.  The IS models, both f/4 and f/2.8, are weather sealed, while the non-IS models are not.  The EF 70-200mm f//2.8L IS II USM is a very sharp zoom lens, and very well built.

I strongly recommend buying the lens that you want, and not one to tide you over.  It is cheaper over the long run, because more likely than not, you will wind up buying the lens you really want, anyway.

--------------------------------------------------------