Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2018

60D not recording sound!

Hi there people,

 

This is my first post on the forum and as a programmer, I need to say it, Hello World.

But, getting back to the topic. I recently bought a used 60D, with approx. 10k clicks in a new shutter. As I don't have a lot of money, I buying the things in parts, so I am using some old Pentax lenses in the camera until I buy some Canon lens.

 

The camera works perfect, except for the audio in the video mode. It does not record any audio. The videos are all muted, the audio level is maxed out and audio meter show no signal. Even by the external mic input, the camera senses the connection of the mic (or my case, a aux. cable with a steady and known signal from a notebook) but shows no audio.

I already tried change settings and updating the firmware, but nothing seems to work.

 

Does anybody have an idea of what is going on? Smiley Sad 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,439
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Are you verifying this on the computer or on the camera? I have heard that some cameras have problems playing back sound, but they play fine on the computer.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,542
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: 60D not recording sound!

You mentioned using an external mic.  Was this an external "powered" microphone (like a Rode Videomic Pro?).

 

I wasn't sure by reading your post if you also tested the internal mic.  

 

If neither works... it makes me suspect the mic port is damaged.  Normally when you plug in an external mic then the camera uses only that microphone (it wont use the internal mic) but if that port is damaged, the camera may "think" an external mic is connected and thus doesn't use the internal mic (even though that mic isn't damaged) ... and of course using a real external mic may not be working if the port is damaged to the point that there's a connection problem.

 

This may require repair.

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,439
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 60D not recording sound!

He used a signal generator to inject a signal.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2018

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Hi kvbarkley,

Yes, I am seeing the videos on the computer. :/
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2018

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Hi TCampbell,

I tested the internal mic and for testing the external mic port I used a signal generator.

The plug seems not damaged. When I plug the P2 cable on it, the menu disable the Wind Filter option. So I think the camera know that something was connect, but captures no signal from it.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,865
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Sound recording menu option is set to Auto?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2018

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Hi John,

It's set to manual, with gain on maximum.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,865
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 60D not recording sound!

Sounds like camera defect then.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement