cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel XT vs T3i photo style

ixiphoto
Contributor

So i've had a Canon Rebel XT since 2007 and it has been my main camera. Now I went off to the philippines this year and took very many nice photos, however I was thinking of updating since the camera is pretty OLD, the screen is TINY and you need to be extremely steady to take a sharp shot.

I looked back on the pictures I took and you can almost always see noise unless the scene and settings were perfect. I am by no means a pro or even close to amateur I can choose a good scene but just in the last year I have started to understand how to use the settings in my camera to capture said scene in all its glory.

So I started using my brothers Rebel T3i, it is a nice camera. Very sharp photos, autofocus is even better, reduced noise clear shots huge screen etc.

My only gripe is I really like the way a photo comes out with my older camera, they just seem a bit rustier and have a fade to them that gives them an imperfect look that gives it character. With the new camera, every photo is extremely clean and HD it looks to shiny and super clean, something that would look nice taking photos of technology or modern architecture. Most of my shots are on the fly of people in 3rd world contries working on car engines with no shirts on in the middle of the jungle or of a man walking his water buffalo to drink from a nearby stream. I included two pics I took with my camera when I was in the mountains during a cloudy wet day.

Do I just need to get to know the T3i better or am I out of luck?

IMG_0019.jpg

IMG_0036.jpg

20 REPLIES 20

Peter
Authority
Authority

1/60 seconds and ISO 400. That's why you can see a little bit noise. Some parts are unsharp because of the wind.

1/30 seconds and ISO 100. Seems good to me even if 1/30 seconds is a bit too slow hand holding at 34 mm.