Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-29-2017
Accepted Solution

Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)

[ Edited ]

help about my Canon 750D, I just bought this one. The picture is very noise. the detail/shine of the diamond is not really showing.I am also using tripod and timer for taking pictures.

 

RAW

 

750d.jpg

 

BLUR/NOISE

 

grain.jpg

 

EDITED

 

c750d.jpg

 

DATA

 

exif.jpg

Valued Contributor
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎10-21-2016

Re: Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)

There are so many possible problems here.

 

You really need to shoot in raw to minimise noise and maximise detail.

Use the lowest available ISO value.

Do not use an aperture of f22 with this subject f8 should be adequate, at f22 you will suffer from diffraction.

The kit lens is not the sharpest lens to use at this distance a proper macro lens would be better.

More precise focus would be attained by using manual focus in live view zoomed to 10x.

When shooting jewellery perfect lighting and exposure is extremely important.

If you want a black background then shoot using one.

 

There are probably sites on the web where you can get specialist instruction for jewellery photography, try Google.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,976
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)

I would just like to add that " depth of field " can become very short when you are focusing on subjects this close to the camera.  You may need to take a series of photos, each focusing on a different part of the piece, and then stack them together into a single shot.

I think your posted shutter speed is slower than it need be.  Don't be afraid to raise the ISO a little bit.  I agree that f8 should be adequate aperture, but it may require that you stack a series of shots if you want them entire piece in focus.  An actual macro lens will make a world of difference, too.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)

[ Edited ]
  • f/22 will not be sharp due to diffraction, no matter which lens you use. Use Google and search for diffraction f/22.
  • If you use a tripod you can use longer shutter speed and lower your ISO to be able to collect more photons.
  • Focus stacking may be an idea.
  • Search for photograph jewelry to get some ideas about light and background.

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-29-2017

Re: Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)

I am shooting at raw, I will try your suggestion for shooting in manual focus. Thanks
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,976
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 750D Noise (Product Photography)


@Peter wrote:
  • f/22 will not be sharp due to diffraction, no matter which lens you use. Use Google and search for diffraction f/22.
  • If you use a tripod you can use longer shutter speed and lower your ISO to be able to collect more photons.
  • Focus stacking may be an idea.
  • Search for photograph jewelry to get some ideas about light and background.

 

 


Yes!  Using a tripod will allow you to keep ISO set at 100.  You may also want to use either a remote shutter switch, or the shutter delay timer in the camera.  Using mirror lockup, if that model has it, can help reduce stray vibrations, too.

 

IMG_7598.jpg

 

The above shot was an experiment in stacking photos, each of which was created by taking several identical photos and averaging them together to reduce the noise.  At least, that was the plan behind the experiment.  

 

I wound up needing to create shots at 10 different "focus angles" [I'm sure there is a term for it, but I don't know what it is] in order to fully capture the entire surface in focus.  I completely neglected to pay any attention to White Balance.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement