cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sports settings

jrtf
Apprentice

Hi - I am new to sports photography.  Can anyone give me some suggested settings on action shots for cloudy or early evening hours?  I am going to a football game friday and was asked to take pics of a friends son.  I have a rebel xi and a tamron 18-270 lens

12 REPLIES 12

ScottyP
Authority

I would use TV mode. It is shutter priority mode, meaning you set a shutter speed fast enough to freeze the action and the camera will set the aperture to match.  If you cannot get enough light to make a good exposure at the necessary shutter speed even with the camera opening the lens up to its max aperture then you have to increase ISO until you have a decent exposure. 

For football action shots, I'd say you at least 1/400th of a second shutter speed, if not faster.   Check your shots to see if your shutter is fast enough to freeze your action.

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

Also:

The autofocus mode should be AI FOCUS.  The autofocus will track the subject continuously when it is moving but will settle when he is not. 

The shooting mode should be CONTINUOUS so it will fire off a burst if you hold the shutter button down. 

I would leave leave white balance on auto. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

cicopo
Elite

Agree with above but you also need to set the AF to AI Servo. I have owned & shot action with that lens in good light but it may not be great in low light.