cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do i set rebel t5 so pics end up 6mp?

suepatten
Apprentice

im new to the rebel t5 but i love it. ive always had point and shoots, so this is different. i post on a few sites and they say the pic must be at least 6 mega pixels, how do i set the camera for that? thank you

6 REPLIES 6

ezpop
Rising Star

image size can be selected, please see p84,85 of the manualcapture-20150117-143505.png

ezpop
Rising Star

and here

capture-20150117-143735.png

Setting the camera to take a lower-res picture will do it, but you are giving up resolution you might want for cropping the photo in.

A better way is to go ahead and shoot in the highest quality largest files, but then create a smaller copy of it on the computer. In Lightroom, for example, you just tell the program what size you want as you export/save it. You still have the full size file, and you have simply made a small copy for the website.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

@suepatten wrote:

im new to the rebel t5 but i love it. ive always had point and shoots, so this is different. i post on a few sites and they say the pic must be at least 6 mega pixels, how do i set the camera for that? thank you

The camera is natively 18 megapixels... so if you need "at least 6 mega pixels" then you're covered (your camera shoots triple what you need as a minimum.)