cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best settings for filming outdoors? canon rebel eos t3i

kateamonsta
Apprentice
my brother is getting married this Saturday the 15th, it is going to be an outdoor wedding at 4pm pacific time. The weather forecast is sunny highs of 74 lows 55 with a chance of showers. what are the best GENERAL setting to record the ceremony? Im a camera newbie so I don't know squat! any help would be greatly appriciated.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

For outdoors in "sun", I'd use a flash.  The difference in the sunlit vs. shadow parts of your subjects will be extreme in full mid-day sun, but using flash ("fill flash") while outdoors is a great way to improve the look of a shot.

Switch to "Program" mode on the mode dial.

Raise the pop-up flash (the small button near the mode dial with the lightning bolt symbol release the catch-hook and raises the flash.)

Note that when you look through the viewfinder to take a photo, there is some information displayed along the bottom... most of which is exposure information.  But on the far left side you will see  a small lightning-bolt icon.  If you see that icon illuminated, it means the camera will use flash when you take the shot.

In the basic modes you have little control over when the camera will use flash (it's automatic), but in the "creative zone" modes (Program, Tv, Av, and M) you have full control and can force the camera to use flash.    HOWEVER, using "Program" mode is the same as using the full auto mode (the green box) *except* that you can override several things that you can not override when using full auto.

It would be much better if you had an external speedlite (e.g. like the Canon 430EX II) because the built-in pop-up flash is very limited (subjects need to be close for that flash to have much effect).