cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade help! - Lens or Camera?

kailash6759
Apprentice

Hey guys I’m a sports photographer and I’m currently shooting with a canon m50 alongside a 24-70 2.8 lens. I’m willing to upgrade either my camera body and I also want to get a 70-200 2.8 lens. For sports photography what is more needed first. Upgrade from m50 to canon R5 or R6( my options) or just get a 70-200 2.8 for now and upgrade the body later on

4 REPLIES 4

rs-eos
Elite

If you have enough budget for it, I would strongly recommend getting the RF 70-200 f/2.8 lens along with an R-series camera.

If keeping your existing M50 body, you wouldn't be able to get the RF 70-200 lens as it's not compatible (no adapter exists).  See Will Lens X work with Camera Y for details.   Thus, you'd end up spending on the EF version of the lens.   And while you could later get an EF to RF adapter when moving to an R-series body, I feel this is not the best.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

amfoto1
Authority

It's not an either/or thing.  You need BOTH! M50 is not a great camera for sports photography. And 24-70mm isn't long enough telephoto for a lot of sports.

l would recommend getting the less expensive R7 (which has the same APS-C format sensor as your current camera) and looking for a good deal on a 70-200mm f/2.8L II or III or a 70-200mm f/4 IS (either version). The f/4 lenses are smaller, lighter, but very capable too. 

Both the R5 and R6 are full frame cameras, so you will need longer lenses with either of them to get the same angle of view you do now. You'll need a 70-300 or 100-400, instead of the 70-200mm.