cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating T3i - recommendations

AnnaRamos
Apprentice

I have a 10-year-old Canon Rebel T3i with a 100mm macro lens and a couple of Canon Speedlite 270EX II. However, I'm interested in upgrading to a newer version. I believe I want to switch to a mirrorless and full-frame camera. 

Can you suggest any models that would be a good fit for me? Also, I'm not sure if getting an adaptor for the lens would be worth it, or if it's better to change the whole system. What do you think?

10 REPLIES 10

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

What is your budget for a new camera. What lenses do you have besides the 100mm macro.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Budget: $2500.00 (total for the set: camera + lens + flash)
Additional lens: 18-55mm, but I've never used it (it came with the camera). 

I'm a dentist and only use my camera for oral pictures.

One option would be an EOS R8 with an RF 50mm f/1.8 lens.   That would do very well in lower-light conditions.   Total would be around $1,700 leaving a decent amount left for a flash.

My thought with this full frame camera along with a standard lens, is that would result in images pretty close to what the human eye sees.   The minimum focusing distance would be 11.8 inches, so you could get quite close.

Another option though, in case you need very detailed images, is with a Macro lens.   The RF 100 mm f/2.8L Macro though is $1,400.  So you'd need to go with a cheaper camera body; probably something like the EOS R50.  Though I don't know what would be more beneficial to you: a cheaper crop-sensor camera with very good macro lens, or a better camera body with decent standard lens.