cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T6i: Best Settings for Glamour/Model Photography

bonhomme
Contributor

My wife is a model with beautiful milk chocolate skin, and we enjoy taking glamour/lingerie/boudoir shots of her in our free time.

Because I'm shooting fairly rapidly (several hundred shots in an hour or two), I've left my T6i in Auto mode, and this has resulted in a number of under/over exposed shots, and poor focus at times, along with inconsistent flash operation. I'm not a professional, nor even an advanced amateur,  so I'd really appreciate some tips/tricks to improve my shots.

We normally are shooting in the BR, with 2 small (48") umbrella reflectors and about 11,000 lumens (2x80w) of CFL lighting. I shoot from as far as 6-8 feet away, or as close as 2-3 feet for head & shoulder closeups.

The lens I'm currently using is an 18-135mm IS  zoom, which was recommended as a really good all around lens, however it seems to have depth of field issues.

Any and all help appreciated and TIA.

15 REPLIES 15

Wow, thanks for the tutorial! I'll try to use as much of this as I can absorb 🙂

Concerning post-processing, we're currently not using anything, and I'm shooting JPEG's instead of RAW.

I was hoping to keep the ISO at 800 or below to manage the graininess as we often enlarge her head/shoulders as separate photos

I do think a refresher course in basic photography would do me some good. At one point, (let's just say in the previous century :)), I was fairly familiar with focal lengths, F-stops, ISO's and shutter speeds, however that familiarity has slipped away and it's not coming back as quickly as how to ride a bike......

@bonhomme wrote:

Wow, thanks for the tutorial! I'll try to use as much of this as I can absorb 🙂

Concerning post-processing, we're currently not using anything, and I'm shooting JPEG's instead of RAW.