cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T3i screen freezing up after taking a picture

jdfwright
Apprentice

Hello all. I'm completely new to this camera. The only thing I have done is take pictures and transfer a few to my Mac. So, please be very specific about your suggestions.

A couple of weeks ago, my family was on our way home from the beach and stopped along the shore to take some pictures of my daughter. After I took the first picture, my screen froze up and I had to take the battery out and put it back in for each subsequent photo. Very annoying. After we got home, I put it up and didn't think about it any until this morning, I went to take some pictures, and am having the same issue.

I've been skimming through some stuff online, but I lack the patience to dig for information right now, so I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction. I've seen something about the firmware (I don't know how to do that) and the memory card, but I don't know what to try.

Thanks in advance!

3 REPLIES 3

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

This sounds like you may have the camera's "Image Review" option set to "hold".

When you take a photo, two things normally happen.

1)  The camera should write the image to your memory card.  You'll know when it's writing to your memeory card because there is a red LED ligth which is active when the camera is using the card.  When the light goes out, the camera is finished.

2)  The camera can be set to do "Image Review".  By default, when you take an exposure, the camera will display the image on the rear screen for just a few seconds.  But this behavior can be customized.