cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

CassiLynne20
Contributor

I'm still very new to cameras, and I have a Rebel T5. When I get my shutter speed up, my photos are so much darker they're practically black. I know this has something to do with the light getting in, but I don't know how to fix it right in the settings. I've played around with it best I can figure, but don't know how to fix it. Even with a SUPER bright flash, it still looks black at the higher shutter speeds.

Please help.

Thanks! 

20 REPLIES 20

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
If you are learning put camera in Green Square mode.

Look at the settings the camera selects.

Check some tutorials on YouTube.

If you are going to select your own settings be sure the exposure meter in the viewfinder is in the middle.

Compare setting in Green Square to your setting. Adjust as necessary.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

I've tried altering all other settings while it's on the higher shutter speeds, and sometimes it looks *slightly* less dark, but far from acceptable? Even the lightest one seems to be FAR too dark. So.. Leaves me to wonder if it's a faulty camera (I'd bought it used) or if I've just got the settings wrong.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
It sounds like you’re shotgunning settings without being sure what you’re doing v

Please put it on Green Square and go outside in daylight and take a picture.

If that doesn’t produce a good image then you may have a defective camera.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

Take a look at the YouTube videos from Canon's Digital Learning Center.

https://community.usa.canon.com/t5/General-Camera-Discussion/Canon-YouTube-Video-Series/m-p/269237#M...