cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Settings for fast airplanes

Batfire2000
Contributor
Going to be taking pics at a rc plane field.
What is a good starting point for settings, I'm assuming manual mode ? And I'm confused on metering? Thanks, I'm very new to all this awesome hobby. Rebel T6i.
27 REPLIES 27

ScottyP
Authority

Hopefully Ciccopo weighs in on this.  He's an expert. 

Kind of like shooting racing cars. You don't want to use so fast a shutter that there's no blur in the car wheels or the plane's propeller, and you want to pan with the subject so it is not blurred due to the not-quite-freezing shutter speed, but the background shows motion blur. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Absolutely you need to ask cicopo.  He has done this successfully for a long time.  One of the best.  If he does not see this, send him a PM.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Batfire2000
Contributor
Cool, thanks.

Not an RC model, And the exposure was -3 stops off, but this one was taken at f/18, 1/800 second ISO 100.

So change to ISO 400 and you would have the correct exposure.

IMG_1894_editshrunk.jpg

Batfire2000
Contributor
Nice, thanks.

diverhank
Authority

@Batfire2000 wrote:
Going to be taking pics at a rc plane field.
What is a good starting point for settings, I'm assuming manual mode ? And I'm confused on metering? Thanks, I'm very new to all this awesome hobby. Rebel T6i.