cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ring in photos - 6D Mark II

Dugan1979
Apprentice

Hello!  I am new to the Canon world.  I recently bought a 6D Mark II.  I got two lenses to start me off, both used.  A canon macro, which works great, and a Tamron 18-200mm aspherical lens.  I went out today to test the Tamron and all of my photos have a ring to them.  I can't figure it out.  As I zoom in the ring lessens, but it is still there.  What am I missing?  Any help would be really appreciated.  As I said I am new to Canon and would really like to get the most out of the camera.Example.jpg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Peter
Authority
Authority

It seems like your lens is made for smaller APS-C sensors like those in 60D or 600D. Mounting a lens designed for APS-C on a full frame DSLR is not a good idea due to the risk of hiting the mirror in the camera.

View solution in original post

normadel
Authority
Authority

This isn't a Canon issue. It is a case of a lens designed to cover a crop sensor being used on a full-frame camera. The "image circle" of the crop-sensor-designed lens does not fill the frame of your 6D, so you see the circle. You don't say where you got the Tamron, but if you can return it, do so.

You need to AVOID lenses designed for APS-C camera bodies. In Canon parlance, it means you need EF lenses, NOT EF-S lenses. Actually, EF-S lenses won't even mount on your 6D.  With other brands of lenses, you have to know what you are buying. Tamron, Sigma etc. will tell you what body type a lens is made for.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Peter
Authority
Authority

It seems like your lens is made for smaller APS-C sensors like those in 60D or 600D. Mounting a lens designed for APS-C on a full frame DSLR is not a good idea due to the risk of hiting the mirror in the camera.

normadel
Authority
Authority