cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R5 C Can't get video to record

graceohara
Apprentice

Hello! I recently purchased the Canon R5C. I am a photographer, but wanted to dive into videography. I have been playing around with the video settings and cannot get the camera to record. Could this be an issue with my SD card not being big enough?

6 REPLIES 6

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

I'd be more concerned about type, over size, but of course the card does need to have a capacity that will handle the video format you are recording in.    

Let's start here:

Which card are we talking about.  The SD or the CFExpressB?

What is the brand / model  type and size?

What recording format are you trying to record in?

Review page 34 for more information.

eosr5c-aug6-video-en.pdf (c-wss.com)

We can make more suggestions depending on your answers 😀

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

graceohara,

When you say that your camera is not recording, do you mean it's not recording, or it's not saving?

You have two card slots, but you only talk about one card. Are you sure you are pointing to the right slot for saving your videos?

There are several web sites out there with recommendations for memory cards for your R5C like this one:

https://cameratimes.org/best-memory-cards-for-canon-eos-r5-c/

Steve Thomas

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

Sorry to hear about your problem.  I have an R5C and I use it for recording video, almost daily -- I rarely shoot stills.  Of course it works great for me.