cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel XS only turns on when battery is removed and reinserted

ArchieFell
Contributor

Hello, 

I am an amateur photographer using a Rebel XS. I know it’s an old piece of kit but it’s all I can afford at the minute. 
It will only turn on when the battery is removed and reinserted and the battery cap is put back on. I have tried several batteries including 1 canon and 2 Henjoy. It works completely normal once the battery is removed and reinserted and will stay on for as long as I need it. However, when I power is off using the normal switch, the on switch will not function and I have to remove the battery again. 

I am currently travelling so please do not recommend I buy a new camera as it is not an option. I am keen at wildlife photography and set to go to Komodo National Park in the next couple of weeks so urgently need advice before then. 

Thankyou very much and god bless

12 REPLIES 12

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Unfortunately buying a new or another camera is your best and cheapest option. The XS is long out of service life. 
If I was to make such a lifetime trip that you are undertaking a new or a different camera is a small expense. If you don’t have and take a working reliable camera you will regret it later on.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Hi there,

I appreciate your reply. Unfortunately my budget was extremely tight so an XS was all I could afford. It’s been working perfectly well the past 7 months. When turned on via battery reinsertment, it works perfectly fine which is the baffling thing to me. I read on other forums it may be something to do with the date/time battery, which unfortunately is inaccessible in the XS. I’ll take it to a canon shop and see what they think as it really has been reliable and nice to use as an amateur photographer. 

anyway once again I appreciate the reply, 

All the best 

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend