cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T8i - Manual Movie Mode (Poor Quality)

vixgarcia
Apprentice

hi, kinda new to the DSLR game, as of late I started shooting video here and there with a Canon Rebel T8i (i know i have read its average for video recording) with a EF-S 18-55mm Lens and EF50mm F1.8 STM Standard Lens, and  i was shooting on Auto Mode in the beginning, now im experimenting with other modes..i started using Manual Mode as of late and scenes are very pixelated/ blurry, like the background is not clear or in detail, also way too much motion blur by the way it looks .i know you are supposed to double your shutter speed depending on the fps , also aperture is a big deal same with iso but it looks like when i even fix those things , the quality is not sharp at all. I have this Camera mounted on a gimbal to eliminate the shake/motion…i also was using the Cinestyle Profile that I downloaded since this camera doesnt have C-Log and that was worse ( also read that since this t8i is 8bit or something that cinestyle wont look as great) so i just have the Neutral style on. Not sure what im doing wrong , i switch to auto and of course that looks crisp and clear but i dont want to shoot in auto because it looks over saturated or and its hard to edit colors later on..so just wondering if anyone as had a problem or if you have any helpful manual settings. might just use this camera specifically for photography. Thanks 

7 REPLIES 7

deebatman316
Elite
Elite

Your aperture is is too wide open. Ie you're shooting a F/1.8 which causes a very blurry background. Stopping down to say F/5.6 or F/8 will eliminate most of the blur. In Auto Mode the camera usually stays around F/5.6 or F/8 to avoid bokeh (background blur).

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D