cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5, R6 Mark II, or R6

TRom
Apprentice

I have been shooting on the Canon EOS Rebel T7 for the past 2 or 3 years now and was looking into upgrading from my dslr to a full frame mirrorless camera. I don't know the specifics behind mp and such. I usually shoot a mix of wildlife, automotive, and landscape photography. I feel like I am being hindered by low light situations and not having a foldable screen. My question to yall is what would be the best camera to get the greatest outcome and value?

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome to the forum:
Well, if you want good advice we need some more information:
1.  What is your budget value - i.e. a dollar amount (assume you are from the US? - this is an international site)
2.  What lenses do you have - specifically, are they EF or EF-S lenses and what focal lengths.
3.  Do you want to use your existing lenses or will your budget include the purchase of optics?

Is there a reason did not do research to know about the basic camera specs?  This is basic information that you can and should assess and has implications for what you produce, which is something you need to consider on your own behalf.  If you shoot for social media, digital display and moderate sized prints, the R6 series is fine.  If you need to create very large, high-resolution prints, or do a lot of cropping, then the R5 has a lot more MP, but that comes at the cost of slightly lower dynamic range compared to the R6 series.

Your subject range is very diverse:
Wildlife: will require long lenses, and if they are zoom units what you have will be significant as long lenses are expensive.  The three bodies you mention all have great sensors and excellent face and eye tracking, plus In Body Image Stabilization (IBIS), which makes them significantly superior for hand-held wildlife photography.